Although English class has been boring and difficult with all of the tough essays we’ve had to write in order for us to improve as learners, it’s been pleasurable. Im writing this blog to display how i’ve grown as a student over the past two years. I feel as if my knowledge about writing, vocabulary, and the English subject as a whole, has greatly increased. I chose these two assignments because I feel they best show how much i’ve grown and improved over the past two years as a writer.

Last year, we were asked to complete an essay about bottled water as one of our Performance Tasks.

image image
For this Performance Task, we were given four documents about bottled water. Two were written by those who were for bottled water and two were written by those against it. After we annotated all four sources we had to decide which side we were on. I chose against bottled water because i felt as if there was more information and stronger evidence supporting this side. The next step after you chose was to complete a five paragraph essay including evidence supporting your side. Compared to this years writing there are a lot more mistakes in this essay. For example i have several grammatical errors such as missing commas, apostrophe, I forgot to cite sources and explanations. As well as this years there were also several spelling errors. Just like this year, I was able to not only be both a critical and creative thinker, I was able to be Technologically Adept. I was able to annotate four sources and complete a five paragraph essay on a specific topic which makes me a Critical and Creative Thinker. I was able to use different sources that my IPad provides for me which makes me Technologically Adept.

This year, we completed an blog assignment called “The Lesson of the Moth”.

image
In order for you to completely finish the assignment and get an A, you first needed to read a story with a theme, and identify the theme. Once you’ve completed that Mrs. Lepre then asked us to answer some questions about the story that would later help us with our blog about the differences on how the Moth and the Cockroach live their lives. Despite how much I’ve grown as writer, my writing isn’t perfect and there are some mistakes that can be fixed throughout high school. In my writing I have several grammatical errors such as not adding a comma where it’s needed, and too many spaces between my words. There are also vocabulary errors such as misspelling “philosophies”, using the word and multiple time in a sentence when i wasn’t giving off a list of things, and bland vocabulary. During this assignment i was both technologically adept and a critical and creative thinker because I needed to use my IPad to write my blog as well as discover new functions on Edublogs.com. I was a critical and creative thinker because I figured out the theme of the story and the message each animal was trying to give.

During the past two years I improved greatly as a writer by minimizing errors and using complex vocabulary. I feel more confident in my writing and I think my writing is ready for high school and ready to be improved. Although I am more confident in my writing I can work on correct grammar and spelling for high school and hopefully learn more complex vocabulary to use in my writing.