English has been an adventure for me these past two years. My first year I wasn’t even in flags and my second year, I didn’t even start out in flags. I am writing this blog post to compare my 7th grade skills with my 8th grade ones and see if where I am strong and where I am weak. I chose the following two assignments because I feel that they will really show me my strengths and weaknesses from these past two years of english.

image

In this assignment we had to write an essay that compared the good and bad about artificial sweeteners. In this essay I actually put two titles and they were basically the same thing just different words. Not only that but I repeated a phrase twice and my conclusion paragrpah wasn’t even in its own paragraph. The good thing is that I used nice reliable evidence to back up my claims and I successfuly compared the two sides of artificial sweeteners. I demonstrated being an effective communicator with this essay because I informed the audience that there is two sides to using artificial sweeteners none being better than the other.

image

In this assignment I had to write an argumentative essay about the toilet to tap campaign and whether I was for or against it. In this essay I did better because I wrote an entire 6 paragraph essay with less errors. I did however have a rather short conclusion and forgot one transition word for one of my paragraphs but all around I did better than my 7th grade essay. I wrote much more and I used more evidence to back up my claim. I demonstrated that I was an effective communicator by getting my point across to my audience that I was for the toilet to tap campaign.

I have improved as a writer by writing much more than I used to and having less gramatical errors. My weaknesses are just simple mistakes like forgetting transition words and repeating phrases. I do need to make my starting and ending paragraphs a little longer.