In my 7th grade year i didn’t have the opportunity to be part of the F.L.A.G.S team, but in my 8th grade year english has increased my understanding level in many ways and i have had a great experiences. I had a fantastic english teacher that thought me many things and tried to push me on doing better throughout all the year. I’m writing this blog post to present to you what i have learned throughout this english year. I decided to use the “Landlady and the monkeys paw comparison” this helped me practice my foreshadowing skills that means comparing two different stories. The second assignment is ” The Christopher Reeve’s Speech” helped me find the purpose, audience, facts, expert opinions, anedoctes and the argument.

image

My assignment for the first semester is ” The Landlady and the Monkey’s Paw Comparison”. For this assignment we had two read two stories after reading both stories we had to analyze the mood, theme, setting,character and see how they foreshadowed . After, that we had to compare both stories and compare the main idea, theme and how the story foreshadowed. For the annotations of this note i was mainly focused on the important things like the mood when i read ” The landlady” the theme seemed house welcoming and peaceful, but it also had a scary part at the end which was one of the things that I could of improved in my annotation. In the “Monkey’s Paw” I did a good job comparing how Morris tried to warn the Whites about the monkey’s paw to how Billy read both name of the book and knew they both disappeared. For the mood i need to work on finding accurate information to support the theme that magic is dangerous. This note helped me improve my ability to compare and contrast two different stories and analyze texts.

image

For my second semester, i choosed was “The Christopher Reeve’s Speech”. For this note we had to read and analyze a non-fiction text, and find the purpose, the argument, audience, facts, expert opinions, anecdote and statistics. In paragraph 4 the purpose of the story is for persuading the congress to give elaborate on researching curse and the audience is the congress. In the text he talked about his past and who he knew which is an anecdote. For the Expert opinion a famous university and the president which also gave facts and statistics that could be confirmed. For the emotions and persona after i read the story and went back and looked for the how i felt the word family, together , strong, and hurt made Christopher Reeve seem liked he was a caring person. For my notes i need improvement on how to find more useful evidence to support the purpose. This note helped me improve my ability to analyze what a character has experienced and how that impacts suspense and humor to the writing.
From my first semester to my second semester in english class my writing has improved amazingly. Now i have the ability to analyze different types of stories and texts, finding the purpose, theme, mood, setting and all types of elements in a story. One of the my weaknesses as a 8th grader is using higher academic vocabulary and punctuation. For my weaknesses i can evaluate the text more deeply and comprehending, also by study and practicing with different types of sentences.