English, 7th grade, was easier because the teachers were not as hard on us, as they are now. Since we are growing older, they are going to be expecting more of us. It will get complicated and stressful, even though thats not what the teachers intend to do. They just want us to improve and become better learners. I chose the Happiness Project, 7th grade, and The Lesson of the Moth, an 8th grade poem, to describe how I improved as a writer.

Looking back at the Happiness Project, as an 8th grader made me think, I was not a good writer. For the project, we had to rate Health, Education, Community Vitality, Time Use, Psychological Wellbeing, Cultural Diversity and Resilience, Living Standards, Good Governance and Ecological Diversity and Resilience from whats more important to whats not so important. After we numbered the 9 things, we had to write 2-3 sentences about why its an important factor in a person’s happiness. Finally, we had to find 2-3 images from the internet that are associated with the same domain and then paste it next to the sentences. I highlighted my weaknesses, which was, sentences that weren’t as good because I gave information that didn’t match exactly with the topic.

image

The Lesson of the Moth was such a beautiful poem. It was about a moth that was attracted to a light bulb and was trying to get inside, a cockroach asks him whats he’s doing and he replies with “It is better to be part of a beauty for one instant, and cease to exist than to exist forever and not be part of beauty.” We had to read the poem and answer the questions at the bottom. The questions were to find figurative language, why didn’t the author use punctuation?, find word choice that is important to the mood and how it impacts the reader, and do you agree with the moth’s point pf view or the narrator’s? We had to answer these questions with our teammates and at the end, we would all share answers. My weaknesses was that I still need to learn more on my figurative language because I don’t know most.

image

Ive wrote better since 7th grade because, from what I remember, the teacher didn’t show us how to improve our writing, like this year. This year, I learned about ellipsis, more about compound sentences, complex sentences, compound complex sentences and simple sentences, I learned how to change words in an article using brackets. I learned many more things as an 8th grader. In high school, I will try to use these technics to make my writing better. However, high school is different and the teachers teach us differently. As I learn more ways to improve my writing, I will get better and better.