English class for the past two years has been a great learning experience. I have loved english because I love to write. In class, we have learned to write in many genres. To show how my work has improved, I have been assigned to write this blog post about 2 different assignments from the past two years. I chose these two assignments because I felt that they have displayed my strengths and weaknesses as a writer better than other assignments would have.

In this assignment, Murder Mystery, we had to find evidence in a crime scene that supported our belief of the crime being a suicide or murder. In my weakness annotation, I showed that my imageweaknesses were in grammar punctuation, etc. This has always been a weakness because I am a very distracted person, therefore I typically forget to double check for simple errors such as grammar and punctuation. A strength in this piece of writing is being able to analyze different points of view. This is demonstrated when I shared information that had been provided by Jenny, a witness in our case. In this assignment I proved to be, an effective communicator because I used evidence to prove my opinions to be facts. I also proved to be a critical and creative thinker because I created evidence to support my claim in a clever way.

For my 8th grade assignment, I chose the memory summary. The task was to summarize what we had imagebeen talking about which was memory and mental problems. When I was annotating my weakness, I realized that it was the same as in seventh grade, the only difference was that I had no spelling errors which surprised me a lot considering the fact that that is the reason that I usually get a lower score on my essays. The strength in this summary was that I was able to analyze the authors point of view and use it to strengthen my writing. Another strength, was I was able to interpret the main idea to create a stronger format for my summary. In this piece of writing, I proved to be a critical and creative thinker because I was able to understand the reading to find the main idea and create a proper summary.

In the past two years, I have improved as a writer in certain ways. My spelling has gotten way better, so has the way I can interpret evidence. A big weakness in eighth grade is still punctuation, however I can improve by being more careful in proofreading my work before turning it in. This is something that I always forget to do which lowers the quality of my writing and lowers my grade for the piece.