English these past two years I have learned a lot and improved a lot. I am writing this blog post to demonstrate how much I improved as a seventh grader. I chose the “Lesson of the Moth Blog Post” as my seventh grade assignment because I enjoyed the story the lesson of the moth. The poem had more meaning to it it was interesting and thoughtful. It also demonstrated weakness and strengths in the lesson and I got 100%. For the eight grade assignment I chose “Non-Monetary Benefits of College Performance Task Essay” because this assignment also demonstrated weakness and strengths. Also got a pretty decent good score, but showed things I can improve on.

In the assignment “Non-Monetary Benefits of College Performance Task Essay” I had to examine three sources. Then I answered three constructed responses question task that followed up. Which helped me right the informative/explanatory response of writing about the current issues in higher education. I wrote the benefits about college. I highlighted my strengths My thesis statement was clear and previews what will be discussed in my essay. My introduction has a hook, description of the topic of the essay, and a thesis statement. My topic sentence was clear, contained a main claim, and supported my thesis. Also another strength was after each piece of evidence, I thoroughly explained why it mattered in your my words. My conclusion has a restatement of the thesis statement (stated in a different way), a summary of my main claims, and a clincher (final thought). I had weaknesses too. One of them was my body paragraphs shouldn’t be in the order of the three sources. Rather, they should be in logical order based on the structure of your essay, such as cause/effect, chronological, problem/solution, etc. Another weakens that I had in seventh grade that I improved was my transitions should vary throughout the essay. I should of refrained from using the same transitions to introduce your evidence or explanation. “Non-Monetary Benefits of College Performance Task Essay” Demonstrates the Effective Communicators FLAGS Learning Outcome because I read and analyzed sources and presented my ideas by providing evidence and explanation to defend the arguments I stated in the essay.
image

For the eight grade assignment “Lesson of the Moth Blog Post” I had to creat a blog post. I had to summarize and describe the theme of the poem. In the second paragraph I had to explain the two different philosophies toward life expressed in this poem and also which characters are used to symbolize those philosophies. Last paragraph I had to describe which of those two views represent my own and say why. I highlighted the main idea and the theme because I described the theme and main idea marvelously. I also highlighted the two philosophies because I demonstrated by symbolizing those philosophies. The third paragraph I could of elaborated a bit more but it was also showed the views in different ways. This assignment demonstrates critical and creative thinkers FLAGS outcome because in the poem I had to have creative thinking and analyze and elaborate the poem in different ways. I made connections and high order thinking.

image

Between seventh and eight grade I have improved a whole lot. By seeing my writing now and from seventh grade I made less mistakes and improved mistakes from seventh grade. Some weakness as an eight grade I feel like I still need to improve on argumentative writing and make sure I improve that for high school by continuing to go over my mistakes and fixing them.