English class these past two years has been both challenging and easy. I am writing this blog post to discuss my improvement since last year. The assignments I chose to write about are Tap Water vs. Bottled Water and Letter to the President.
     The assignment Tap Water vs. Bottled Water was an argumentative performance task essay we had to write discussing whether we agree or disagreed with tap and bottled water. On this specific essay I received a perfect score although I did make a few mistakes in spelling. When I annotated this artifact I corrected my spelling errors and made good comments on both my intro and conclusion. The FLAGS learning outcome that I demonstrated by completing this assignment is Effective Communicator because I was able to state my opinion and back it up with reliable evidence from the text.

image image
     The next assignment is from this year, the assignment I chose was Letter to the President because I was easily able to compare the two artifacts and see my improvement because they were both argumentative. In this artifact we were supposed to explain our opinions on the SOTU that Barack Obama gave on January 12th, 2016. On this artifact I made only one spelling error and my arguments were good so I didn’t annotate as much. The FLAGS learning Outcome that was achieved by completing this assignment was again effective communicator because I was able to discuss in the letter my concerns and opinions about the SOTU and was able to back it up with good evidence and reasons.

image
     From the artifacts from 7th and 8th grade you can see that I’ve improved but I’m not that different. As an 8th grader I still make mistakes in my writing like I did in 7th but I’m still able to back up my opinion with evidence. For high school I can improve by making sure to always reread my writings to make sure I don’t make the same silly spelling errors.