My teacher, Mrs. Lepre, has been my english teacher for two years now, 7th and 8th grade. English classes with Mrs. Lepre has been fun, quiet, hard, and easy over these past two years but, one thing I could strongly say I is, everyone who has had her for both years has progressed rapidly in there writing and skills. This year for portfolio she wanted us to try something new, it was decided that we were to compare the growth from specific topics and struggles from 7th grade to 8th grade. This would be done in a blog. We’ve done blogs at least twice a month this whole 8th grade semester. I’ve decided that Im going to share about one i enjoyed the most in 7th grade and one i enjoyed in 8th grade.

For this ‘Murder Mystery’ assignment, I was supposed to write a short summary explaining what I thought was the cause of a murder that had taken place in a wealthy mans home. As you can see, I have a lot of errors in every way with this assignment but, I think that my creativity of the way I attempted to make the story sound and the way I pictured my story to be was pretty well. Now, time for sharing MANY mistakes! I need to practice and always re read what I write because i had a lot of simply mistakes where i would pit one would twice thinking It was only write once. My sentences were a huge mess! The way I wrote them made no sense at all, they were very awkward and shouldve been worded very differently. I also believe that i used way to much commas and my sentences were to run on. To me this is a Global and civivc minded FLAGs outcome because this assignment was about a murder and how to solve it and this goes on in everyday life all over the world, the civic part is the part where I had to act as if I was the person trying to solve this mysterious murder when really it was a story I read about.

image

One of my favorite 8th grade assignment was the “Lesson of The Moth” blog post. I was supposed to write about the meaning of the story and who I thought the author was. As an 8th grade writer, I still make a lot of mistakes and that is something need to work on. I did well with finding the author and meaning and expressing my opinion with my point of view. I struggled again with typing the same word twice, having sentences that don’t make sense, and adding words that don’t belong. This is a critical and creative thinker because during this process I had to think a lot about what the meaning was because, it couldve been a lot of different meanings. Creative thinker because I came up with my my own point of view and made the featured image by drawing it and being creative about it.

image

I feel that I’ve improved rapidly in my writing from 8th grade compared to 7th. In the 7th grade assignment I had an error in almost every sentence and there were multiple errors too. In the 8th grade assignment I had quite a bit of errors too but, not nearly as much as I had in 7th. I feel that I am a stronger writer too because when I write now I feel more confident that my writing is good and not bad like it was before. I know
I have a lot of weakness like how provide a lot of information without having ling run on sentences and like making sentences sound nice and not awkward but, I will work hard now and in high school to reach those weaknesses and exceed in them not only for me to have a good grade in english but, to be a great writer in general.