Today I’m going to write about my English portfolio artifcats. I’m writing this blog because I am going to do a reflection about how I have developed as a writer for example how different my level of writing is from last year in 7th grade into this year of 8th grade English class. My two artificats will be Murder Mystery and The Lesson of the Moth. I chose both of these assignments because once I really read both over again I actually saw my weaknesses and strengths as a writer.
My first assignment will be the Murder Mystery essay from 7th grade, in this essay we were supposed to pretend to be a cop that showed up to murder site, we were supposed to decide in a group and choose wether we thought it was a murder or suicide later we had to make a statement and include for paragraphs introuducing ourselves, explain why we thought it was a murder or suicide then come up with evidence backing up our statement. As you can see in this essay I had trouble with grammar, capilization, concluding statement, and going into detail. What I did really was the introduction and going into detail on the body paragraph. My flags learning out come from this artifact would have been being a critical and creative thinker I say this because we had to study pictures and artificats to determine the murder .image
My next assigment will be The Lesson of the Moth, in this blog we were suppose to describe the actions and difference of a moth who was always looking for an adventure and the beauty of objects and then the cockaroach who was always careful and thought of the consequences before doing an action. In this blog post I should have reread the whole thing to just fix small mistakes, for example the quotations were facing the wrong way, also I could have changed words like it and replaced, that with the author, the poet, and etc. In the body paragraph I felt like I did really strong besides the quotations marks because I went really into detail about the moth’s and cockaroaches philsophies. My weakness in this blog post was the conclusion I really kept it short when I could’ve added more detail into the statement I was making. My flags learning outcome would be how I became a critical and creative thinker because I had to really think about what the two insects philosphies were, another outcome of this blog would be how I became an effective communicator because I was able to comprehend and try to see how I related to their philsophies.image
These two assignments really made see my weaknesses from 7th grade and how I developed as a writer, because in the murder mystery I struggled with going into detail in the introduction and conclusion and as you may be able to see that in the Lesson of the Moth I felt that I was able to introduce the topic and what was coming next in the second paragraph. My weakness still continues to be my concluding statement because in both artifacts I was not able to do a good but short summary of the overall topic. I can improve, because I just need to try reading the whole essay agin before writing my conclusion so that way I can just summarize the blog or essay.