English class has been challenging for the past two years because it’s been putting us up to our potential as a student. All of these assignments in English helps us understand how to write better essays and narratives as well as using different structures. I am writing this blog post to show my previous work in 7th grade of all the strengths and weaknesses I had, and my work in 8th grade of all the ways I had improve and need help improving from 7th grade. The two assignments I chose were the “Landlady and Monkey Paw Comparison chart,” and

For my 7th grade assignment I chose to do was the “Non-Monetary Benefits of College Performance Task Essay.”

image

In this assignment I had to read different sources about how college is a problem for most graduates because they are in debt. After that I had to do an outline and then do my essay on how college is a problem for most people. In this assignment I was able to do well in using evidence and explanations in my essay as well as talk about the subject using different sources. Some of the things that I need to improve on is using colons when listing subjects that I am talking about as well as using different reasons instead of using the same one. By completing this assignment I was able to become a critical creative thinker, because I could write an essay and be creative with the different ways of wording the essay and thinking about how college was a problem.

For my 8th grade assignment I chose to do the “Landlady and Monkey Paw Comparison chart.”

image

In this assignment I had to read two stories, and give an example of foreshadowing as well as writing the mood and theme of both stories. In this assignment I was able to find the theme and mood of the stories, but I need to improve in finding examples for foreshadowing so I can use it in the future. By completing this assignment I was able to be a critical and creative thinker because I was able to use my knowledge to figure out the different moods in both stories. I am also technologically adept because I was able to use actively learn to read the landlady and use notability to read monkey paw.

Since 7th grade I have improved in a positive and negative way in 8th grade. The ways I’ve improved was by finding the theme to a story, but in 7th grade I wrote better than I write now in 8th grade. A weakness I have now in 8th grade as a writer is that It is a little difficult to find evidence and explanation based on the topic than it was in 7th grade. These are the weaknesses and improvements that I have made in 7th and 8th grade.