For me, english has been a pretty easy subject for both seventh and eight grade. Eight grade has mostly helped me with my punciation and mostly with my writing. In seventh grade my biggest weakness was mostly my puncuation along with my vocabulary. My vocabulary is another thing that has greatlt improved througout the year. I am writing this blog post to show how much my writing skills have improved since my seventh grade and how much more my grades can improve from now. The reason i chose the ssigment “Bottled water vs. Tap water,” is because i did a similar assignment in eigth grade for the name of “Toilet to tap.” The assignemnts both give information about water and on both assignments, we were giving the opportunity of choosing the side we wanted, for the first assignment if we either prefered Bottled water of tap water,and for the second assignment we got the choice of choosing the toilet water that was converted into tap or the very expenisve tap water.

 

image

In this seventh grade assignemnt i had to write if i thought bottled water was better than tap water. I had to include reliable sources that explained my decision and had to give explanations that where credible and understandable. As you can see, for the first annotations that i added to my essay, the quotations are mot places where they should be which is something that i have improved since then. On the next annotation from this one, i gave very brief explanation in which i should have explained much more due to the fact that it was the first reason that i gave for my evidence. Then, on the last annotation of that second paragraph, i didnt wrap it up correctly and just wrote a conclusion of just 12 words which is something that i worked in. Adding on to the punctuation errors, i didnt add the necessary commas to the first evidence of the third paragraph. I also didnt give enough explanation for the evidence. I did miss a paragraph which is needed for more information as well. And last but not least, the conclusion. In the conlcusion i gave a good enough amount of information and restated my thesis perfectly. By completing this assignment, i demonstrated that i understood most how to write the evidence and how to give proper information about what i am writing.

 

image

For this eight grade assignment i had to write about toilet to tap water. This was a choice that was beggining to be made some time back. I was supposed to write aboit ky decision wether i thought that this was a good thing to do and was the correct thing to do, or if this should not be done. I chose that we should accept tis change since I was given the evidence that if we did not tak this chance, we would soon run out from water, which was not the best vision anyone could have. For the first annotation, I highlighted a comma that I had not placed. I then placed the next annotation since I decided that that word did not fit in like I thought it did. I really liked the conclusion I did for my first paragraph which is why I added the words at the bottom. My next highlighted part also was a strenght of mine since my seventh grade explanations where very short and not really good evidence. In this sentence I actually explained why this evidence was good enough and gave the right explanations unlike my seventh grade sentences. My last highlight is from my conclusion. My conclusion was kind of weak which is something that downgraded comparing it to my seventh grade one. This is something I can, and will totally work better in. By completing this assignment, I am showing my progress from my seventh grade year to my eight grade year.

Seventh and eight grade are tottaly two places where ive learnt so much. In seventh grade i didnt have the enough knowlegde that I have now but i surley did improve very much. My seventh grade year i had the weaknesses of puncuation, vocabulary, and the ability to explain my knowlegde. In this year of eight grade, I have improved those but I surley still have some weaknesses, those being my conclusions and the ability to extend my explanations to my maximum. My weaknesses that can be improved for high school are mostly my conclusions and my explanations.