For english I can definitely say that I grew in the past two years. There has been many strengths and weaknesses, but I was able to overcome some weaknesses. The reason I’m writing this blog post is because I am reflecting my progress in english these past two years. The two assignments I chose to talk about were “Murder Mystery” and ” Real self vs. Online self blog post”. The reason I chose those two assignments was because I felt comfortable talking about those two and they both show how much I grew.

 

image
The 7th grade assignment I’m going to write about is “Murder Mystery” . In this assignment we had to figure out if the crime scene was a murder or suicide. Using all the evidence we have we will come with a conclusion and after you figure out what you think its going to be. Then you will write a report with all the evidence you found that supports your claim. As you can see in the annotations I can support my claim with lots of evidence. Plus you can also see that the first paragraph is a run on sentence and instead of a period I put a comma. In the second and third paragraph you can see I wrote the word “Repeating”. Well the reason I wrote that was because I basically repeated a sentence instead of changing the wording. For example I wrote ” Which indicated this was a suicide” and two sentences later I wrote the same thing, ” Which also indicated this was a suicide.” The last annotation I wrote was “Doesn’t make sense” on the very last sentence for the last paragraph. I wrote that because if you read it out loud it will sound funny. The FLAGS learning outcome for this assignment would be Critical and Creative thinker because I had to find evidence to figure out if this was murder or suicide. Using the evidence I would have to conclude which side it supported.

 

image

Now the 8th grade assignment known as the ” Real self vs Online self” blog post. Basically the assignment was to write a blog post that describes if you are different online or act the same as you are in real life. We also had to make a avatar to represent how we look like and thinglink that could help the audience know a little about us. Most of the annotations I put were ” Provided examples” and ” Inviting/Bringing the audience in” which are good things because its great to invite the reader so they don’t get bored reading the blog post. Providing examples is great because you want the reader to understand or have a picture of what you are trying to say. I wrote “Weak start” on the first sentence of the first paragraph because it wasn’t supported and it doesn’t really catch the readers attention. I also highlighted the word “Plus” and wrote repeating because if you notice I tend to say plus a lot in my writing. The FLAGS learning outcome for this assignment would be Technology adept because I am using this website called EduBlogs to write blogs that my teachers give me.

 

First of all I improved on my punctuation. In 7th grade the commas were all over the place in my writing and now Im sure I stopped and put them in the the correct places. Also, In my current 8th grade writing I stopped repeating sentences and worded it differently. Plus I don’t do any run-on sentences anymore. My current weaknesses at the moment are making weak Intros but I can make a intro that provides a pretty clear statement. I also repeat some words like the word “Plus”. I often use that word a lot so I can add on to the previous sentence, but I end up saying that word a lot. In order for me to improve my writing by High School would be like to study more words that I can add on to my vocabulary. I also would practice writing intros so I can be able to write more powerful ones.