English class has been going well over the pass 2 years. Both years, I have passed English. English isn’t really my favorite subject, but I still pass this class. I’m going to show how much I’ve improved over the last 2 years, with examples. I chose two assignments so I could compare to how I wrote last year in 7th grade, versus how I write right now in 8th grade.

imageFor this assignment, we had to write a argumentative essay about tap and bottled water. I wrote about how I supported tap water for this essay. My introduction was good, other than the fact that I made a spelling and grammar mistake. I know because on the rubric Mrs. Lepre gave me a 4/4. My body paragraphs were lacking facts, but Mrs. Lepre still gave me a good grade on them on the rubric. Also, my counterargument was good too. My conclusion wasn’t as good as the rest of my essay. I only wrote 2 sentences, and I didn’t restate my claim. In this assignment I demonstrated being a critical and creative thinker. I demonstrated this by writing this essay, and thinking about why tap water was better than bottled water, and how I could write about how good tap was compared to bottled.

imageIn this essay, we also had to write an argumentative essay about Toilet To Tap. In this essay, like the last, I had a good introduction, but I did not make any grammar or spelling mistakes. In my body paragraphs I had way more information, and I cited and blended the quotes much better. My counterargument was also good in this essay. In this essay however, in the conclusion I restated my claim. The FLAGS learning outcome I demonstrated was being an effective communicator. I was an effective communicator because I wrote about my opinion, and I could tell other people how I felt about Toilet To Tap and why it’s good, and I also could’ve changed people’s minds about Toilet To Tap.

I’ve improved as a writer so much between 7th and 8th grade. I feel that I can write about more stuff than I could in 7th because I have a better comprehension, and also I can write better argumentative essays. A weakness that I have now as a writer is that I don’t use a variety of transitions without looking at an actual list of transitions I could use. I can work on using better transitions by trying to use different transitions than I normally use.