During my time at middle school, I’ve had the same English teacher for two years. This was a very interesting experience because our English teacher is a really good teacher and she has helped me improve a lot these past two years. I am writing this blog post to compare two different assignments, one from 7th grade and one from 8th grade. The purpose is to compare them and see how have I improved with these two assignments. I chose these assignments because my improvement is very noticeable and it stands out a lot.

imageThe first assignment is from 7th grade, this assignment is called Murder Mystery. In this assignment we had to either prove a man committed suicide or he was killed based on the surroundings. We had to prove it was suicide or if he was murdered using all the things in the room, every detail was important. I wrote my paragraph on what I believed it was and I proved my claim with evidence. Although it was a little good, it needed a lot of improvement. My vocabulary was very bad, I didn’t use proper punctuation and my sentences are very bad. This makes me a Critical and Creative thinker because I was able to predict what happened and support my claim with evidence around it.

imageThe second assignment is from 8th grade, this was a Performance Task Essay about college problems. We wrote about the main problems about attending college, we had to state our claim about all the different problems of going to college and how they’re a threat to our Country. This essay shows how much I’ve improved, my grade for this essay was a 4-. I believe it was a good essay but my topic sentences and introduction needed improvement because it wasn’t very strong but other than that my essay was good and my evidence was amazing, I cited every single piece of evidence in this essay. This makes me Global and Civic Minded because I was able to see economic problems in our Country that is happening a lot and is a very popular problem all around the nation. It will also make me an Effective Communicator because I am able to listen to arguments and different opinions and I am able to use them as evidence to prove a point.

I have majorly improved with my writing, I am now very good at looking for a claim and strongly supporting it with lots of evidence. I am also able to properly cite my sources and I am also able to cite specific evidence. I am able to use evidence to prove my point and I am able to reflect off it. Something I could improve for HighSchool is writing my introductions because they are always weak.