For the past few years I have taken English here at FLAGS, I had enjoyed it very much. I believe it was a smooth and easy class because the work was minimal and Ms. Lepre explained the concepts really well. As well as when it came to grading us. This blog post will explain how I improved from 7th grade onto 8th. As in, what were my weaknesses at the time and how I was able to improve. The two assignments I chose to relate my work in were my two performance tasks from 7th and 8th grade. Although they were different topics, I am able to easily see what I was able to improve over the span of a few months.

imageThe 7th grade performance task was an argumentative essay about whether bottled water or tap water was the better choice. Us students had to choose a side and provide evidence for why that was the better choice. In the picture, the words that are underlined in red show that they were misspelled. As for the red circles, it shows that it was missing punctuation such as a comma. The red highlights at the beginning of the paragraphs tell that I need better transitions. Lastly, the red dots in the conclusion show that I should have a longer concluding paragraph. On the other hand, some strengths in 7th grade were my explanations to the quote, as you can see are highlighted in green. This assignment helps me become an effective communicator because I am expressing my opinion on a certain topic and proving it in an academic way.

imageThe 8th grade performance task was an argumentative essay about whether converting sewage water into tap water was a good idea. Just like the performance task in 7th grade, we had to choose if it a good choice or not. Then, explain so with evidence. The green highlights at the beginning of the paragraphs tell that I had good transitions. The other green highlights in the middle of the paragraph show that I did well quoting the evidence. On the opposing side, what I could’ve improved on were the length of the introduction and the conclusion. The assignment helps me become global and civic minded because it is helping me realize issues in the community and putting up a stand to what’s right.

 

Over the span of being a 7th and 8th grader I have improved spelling, punctuation, and wording issues. As you can tell, in my 8th grade performance task there were no longer any spelling or punctuations mistakes and I was able to improve my transitions. One thing I do hope to improve in the future is introducing and concluding my writing. I had trouble with it in both essays, but I know I can change that with practice.