These past two years english has been very fun, informative, and interesting. We have done so many assignments that helped us learn our lessons in a fun way such as the ” Monsters in the redwoods common theme”, ” Advertising Analysis”, ” Flags video presentation” and the ” letter to the President”. Today i am writing this blog post in order to explain to you my portfolio night presentation of which two assignments that i have completed in these past two years and how i completed them. I chose to explain the “Murder mystery” from seventh grade and my ” Real Self vs Online self” project from eighth grade. I chose these assignments because they were especially fun for me to complete these pieces of work and i learned a lot from these lessons.
My first assignment is from seventh grade and called, ” Murder Mystery” For this assignment i was supposed to write a police report on a dead man and as the officer in charge i was had to use the evidence i had to figure out if the man committed suicide or was murdered. In order to complete this assignment we spent a day looking at zoomed in portions of the crime scene and writing fact about what we saw, what could be out of the ordinary, and other details. After we looked at each potion of the picture we looked at the entire picture and had to write what we saw then. The next day we used this to choose if he was killed or not. In the picture below i have shown a picture of my writing assignment where i chose to focus on one paragraph and annotate what i could have done better. A few mistakes that i improved on shown in this assignment it that i spelled too many words wrong, used the same words too many times, and didn’t use correct punctuation and forgot to add spaces between commas and periods. However i gave good detail and got my point across with supportive reasons. In this piece of work i demonstrated that i am a critical and creative thinker because i creatively thought of evidence and what could be used to determine the cause and i had to think about each part of the crime scene. I also showed that i am an effective communicator because i had to write down my thoughts and explain them to the reader in a way that makes sense.

image
For my next artifact i choses to tell about the ” Real Self VS Online Self” blog post from eith grade. For this assignment i was supposed to write about how i am different online then i am in person, why i am so different and then i made an avatar to look like me and made a small thinglink or presentation. A few of the constant mistakes that i used to make shown in this artifact are spelling mistakes, repetition, and incorrect grammar. However i did do a good job on explaining and getting my point across. In this artifact i demonstrated that i am a critical and creative thinker becasue i had to think about reasons why i might be fake on the internet and why.

image
In seventh grade my overall weakness in writing was making simple grammar, punctuation, and spelling mistakes. However i have improved in all of these areas. In eighth grade my problem is making sure that i completely describe my thoughts without writing too much. I can improve this by learning some new vocabulary to shorten my description and make my writing stronger.