We are coming to the end of eighth grade. For the past two years, I have been in Mrs. Lepre’s english class. Not only have I learned a lot, but I had fun while doing it. I am writing this blog post for portfolio night. On portfolio night, we will present the assignments we are most proud of from our seventh and eighth grade year. The seventh grade assignment I chose was my “Tap Water vs Bottled Water“ performance task. I chose this assignment because it displays my knowledge from seventh grade. For my eighth grade assignment, I chose my “Should We Recycle Sewage Water?” performance task. I chose this assignment because it shows my improvement since seventh grade and the new skills I have learned since then.

My first assignment, my seventh grade performance task, is a six-paragraph argumentative essay about the differences between bottled and tap water. I wrote an introductory paragraph, three body paragraphs, a counterargument, and a conclusion. As shown in my annotations, my performance task shows that I am good at providing good evidence that supports my claim, explaining my evidence, and introducing my claim. It also showed that I am not good at citing my evidence, as I repeated “according to” and “stated” too many times. This essay showed that I am an effective communicator because I provided evidence and stated my claim.

image    My second assignment, my eighth grade performance task, was also a six-paragraph argumentative essay, but it was about whether San Diego should implement the “Pure Water Project”, which recycles sewage water. As shown in my annotations, I learned to cite my evidence better by incorporating my quotes into my sentences, and using brackets, ellipses, and other tools to make my evidence better. I also showed that I need to improve on my conclusions for high school. This performance task showed that I am a critical and creative thinker because I was able to analyze and evaluate my evidence from 3 sources.

image