I’m an eight grader, and I’ve been in English class with the same teacher I was with last year. English class has been very good this past two years, and I like this class because I think that it is a really good class. I’m writing this blog post because in May 12, I will be doing a presentation in front of my parents about my classes. For each class I need to choose two assignments to talk about and the presentation has to be 15 minutes. For English I need to choose one assignment from 7th grade and one from 8th grade, and show how we have improved in our writing. I chose one assignment from 7th grade called “Common Themes” and the one from 8th grade which is a narrative we wrote a couple days ago where we had different choices to write about, to practice for the SBAC. I chose this two assignments because I think that it is really easy to see the improvemnet in my writing. In my 7th grade assignment I have incorrect grammar and on the 8th assignments I don’t have any.

My assignment from 7th grade is called “Common Themes” in this assignment we had to identify three common themes from two stories we had read on 7th grade called “Monsters are Due on Maple Street” and “Rosewood Incident”. In this assignment we had to read a total of three themes and write evidence from the two stories saying how the theme is related to them both. On the picture below I did annotations in the assignments showing all the errors I did.

image

Here I wrote about my spelling and grammar errors. I didn’t include periods at the end of each sentence and I wrote the words incorrectly. Here what I did well was understand each theme because I knew how they were related to the two stories and what they meant. The FLAGS outcome I demostrated by completing this assignment is an Effective Communicator because I needed to be able to get information from the different stories and I had to explain my thoughts by showing the evidence from both stories for the common theme.

Secondly, my 8th grade assignment was a narrative where we had to w different choices to writw about relating to a Dust Storm. I chose to write about a young child watching the “black blizzard” rolling in over the plains. Here on this essay you can see my improvement in writing, I don’t have errors in my grammar, and I put periods at the end of each sentence. What I did well was that I had the right grammar and punctuation. What I need improvement is my describing in narratives and my introduction. The FLAGS outcome I demostrated by completing this assignment was a Critical and Creative Thinker. I needed to be able to have a good imagination to do a story about a kid watching the Dust Storm rolling in over the plains.

image
I have improved as a writer between 7th and 8th grade. Now I am able to have less grammar mistakes in my writing and have the correct punctuation. My weaknesses as a writer in 8th grade is that I need better introductions in my writing, because I think that I need to capture my reader and have them interested from beginning to end. I can improve for High School by practicing my writing more and by having better introductions.