These past two years english class has been kind of hard. Mostly because we have been focusing a lot on essays such as persuasive, narrative, informative and more. I am writing this blog post to to show and discuss how I have improved from 7th grade to 8th grade. The two assignments I chose were the Murder Mystery assignment and the practice SBAC narrative. I chose these assignments because I feel like I have grown the most on both of these areas.
My seventh grade assignment is the Murder Mystery. This assignment was about a guy who was laying dead on the floor. I had to analyze the objects around him and decide wether he committed suicide or had been murdered. As you see in the picture below, there are some things that are highlighted in pink. The things highlighted in pink are my weaknesses. Most of them are spelling errors and others are things that I repeated. The things highlighted in blue are my strengths. As you see in the circled part (green), I didn’t use the correct punctuation, or I spelled something wrong. The underlined (purple) words, are words that I repeated during the whole conclusion of the investigation. For example, I kept saying that the locks on the door were locked. The strength (blue) is that I made a good hypothesis based on evidence of what happened to the guy.

image

My 8th grade assignment is the practice SBAC narrative essay. In this assignment, I was supposed to pick about which situation I wanted to make into narrative. I chose the situation where an unemployed dad goes to California in hope of having a better life and getting a good job. The blue highlighter is the dialogue I used. The green highlighter are the different characters used. The yellow highlighter are the different experiences the characters went through. The red box is the introducing paragraph describing the characters life before. The box in pink holds the paragraph that, in my opinion, needs improvement because it is kind of random. I demonstrated that I am a critical and creative thinker because I had to come up with a unique story and turn in into a narrative.

image

Between 7th and 8th I have learned how to write a narrative properly. I have also had less grammar mistakes. As a writer in 8th grade, my weakness are informative and persuasive essays because I have trouble citing my evidence correctly. To improve, I will try to practice those essays to master them before I go to high school.