English a class that i struggled with both in 7th and 8th grade year. Why is that?English is my first language that I grew up knowing. You think i know the language and how to speak pretty darn good. The truth is there is more to it then you think. But with the help of a great teacher by the name of Ms.Lepre helped me grow as a student. In this blog post i will be showing and explaining to you how much i improved in English from my 7th grade year to now in my 8th grade year. The assignment i chose was a 7th grade persuasive outline and a 8th grade persuasive essay. I chose these assignments because in year 7 my evidence and reasoning was all over the place compared to year 8 where it’s organized and the evidence used made a strong explanation. image

The 7th grade persuasive outline was about paparazzi’s and how they invade the celebrities life and their loved ones life’s. As you can see my evidence, explanations, and claims used in the outline wasn’t organized nor strong. Like for example my introduction sentence is a question and another question how exactly is this supposed to make a strong claim. It simply can’t. However, i will say my first reasoning was one that will get the reader which is that the paparazzi has a toll on celebrities children like who wants to be followed by unknown strangers especially when your just a child. While completing this assignment i demonstrated that i was a effective communicator because i attempted to express my ideas through a outline in order to prepare me to write an essay.

image

For my 8th grade assignment i chose an persuasive essay. In this essay i was really proud of what i accomplish and how it turned out. This essay was on an important topic which is turning sewage water into re-usable water. In this essay i used strong evidence like that we are killing our marine life which causes a very negative chain reaction towards our environment. But one thing i would like to work on would be starting with transitions at the beginning of each new paragraphs to transition to a new one. By writing this essay i showed that i was global and civic minded. I was global and civic minded because i talked and explained an issue that is affecting the world and coming up with a reasonable solution.

This just goes to show how much i improved with my writing within a year to a two year span. Which if you think about is a short time to learn new skills and apply them to your learning it does take time. Even though i improved greatly i still have many flaws in my writing. For example i still forget to use correct grammar and comma usage. Which i know is a basic skill and i should know but sometimes i get caught up in the sole writing. These are only two things that i would like to improve on in high school to become a more proficient writer.