These past two years in middle school have been ok for English, I guess. Everything has been really boring except when Mrs.Lepre tries to make it exciting, which is not very often. We have too much work and we also have to do this in the end of each year. And everybody hates it. Anyway, I am writing this blog post so that I can get an outline of the English section in portfolio night and so I do not fail this year. I will be talking about “(you can’t see this) ‘s Guide to Rice Canyon Park” and “Issues addressed in the SOTU.” The reason why I am doing these and not other artifacts is that these were the best ones that I did not accidentally delete.
The first artifact, “(you can’t see this) ‘s Guide to Rice Canyon Park,” is from last year when I was in 7th grade. A picture of the first page of the activity is shown to the right. It was meant to be a digital brochure but doesn’t seem like it anymore. In this assignment, we were supposed to put pictures that we took in a field trip we took in Rice Canyon. We then had to label each section with a little note that said something about the place. I labeled the image a bit in the place where I wrote very little. By completing this assignment, I showed a FLAGS outcome. This outcome was being Globally and Civic Minded because I had to be aware of our natural environment so that we could find the stations, take pictures of them, put them in a digital brochure, turn them in, and not fail.
The second artifact is of the “Issues addressed in the SOTU.” In this activity, we had to, for each issue President Obama discussed on multiple links, read about the issue addressed on each link. Then, we had to write about 2 or 3 sentences about how this affects us, our family, our friends, and/or our community. As seen, I need to improve my typing skills for mistakes because we won’t always have autocorrect. I also have to stop making the mistake of I before everyone else. By completing this assignment, I had to demonstrate how Technologically Adept I was because I had to be able to open links from the Notability app and write 2-3 sentences in there too.
I believe that I have greatly improved since last year. This is because, even though, I still make a few errors here and there, I have improved by learning to not make those mistakes as likely. I have done this to the point where in some areas, I am perfect. For example, in the first assignment, I only wrote 7 words as a little note. Where as in the second assignment, I wrote much more for each space which was basically supposed to be space for notes. For high school, I plan to improve even more by something I’ve only dreamed of accomplishing. I will try to be able to type without even needing to see the keyboard. I know in which direction everything is but I still struggle to pin point exactly where everything is. Hopefully I am able to achieve this skill because it would be amazing. I also hope to improve in my spelling and grammar.