English class with Mrs. Lepre these past two years has been a blast. It is hard work at times, but I feel that Mrs. Lepre does her best to make it easier for everyone. Wit portfolio night coming up, this blogpost is dedicated to my portfolio night artifacts and how I have improved. The two assignments I chose for Portfolio night are the common themes assignment, from seventh grade, and the lesson of the moth blogpost, from eighth grade. I chose these assignments because they are the most similar. In both assignments I reflected on stories. Having two similar assignments to compare can help me see the differences in my writing and my improvements.

In January, of seventh grade we had read two stories; the monsters are due on maple street and the Rosewood incident. In this assignment we were asked to come up with three common themes both stories shared and include examples from the stories to support the theme. imageThe annotations I made in blue were good things I did and the red annotations are mistakes I made. One this I realized I did in all theme examples is, I never properly included the stories full title. In all themes I also could have used compare/ contrast transitions to bring together the examples. This assignment has allowed me to be an effective communicator because I used the stories to present my ideas on common themes using examples, in an organized way.

The second artifact is the lesson of the moth blogpost, from January of this year. For this blogpost we had to explain the point of view each of the two main characters had on life, identify the authors point of view, and decide which character we would agree with. imageBased on he annotations I made, I feel that I did a good job of getting my point across. The thing that I feel I could improve on is adding a little more length because it was short.

From seventh to eighth grade I am a more confident writer. I have improved in my grammar skills and including more transitions to make my writing less boring. I feel that i’m developing my voice as a writer. I weakness I still have as a writer is staying on track when i’m writing. To improve this issue for high school, I can plan my writing using an organizer to help me stay focused.