The past two years in English have been great, we have accomplished a lot. Which is why I’m writing this blog post, to show what I’ve completed throughout these two years. This is also what we do during portfolio night, a night in which every F.L.A.G.S student shows a presentation they made about what they completed this year. For the english portion of portfolio night I had to choose two assignments, one from 7th grade and another from 8th grade. The assignment I chose for the year pf 8th grade was the blog post in which we write bout a story about a moth. The reason I chose this assignment was because I was really glad on how it turned out. The second assignment I chose had to be an assignment from 7th grade, so for that one I chose was the performance task. I chose this assignment because it helped me realize how much I’ve grown as a writer.

In this assignment we had to debate wether which one is better to drink tap water or bottled water. This essay was in the format of an argumentative essay. I chose that bottled water is better for drinking. Some improvements that I could’ve done was change the structure of my sentences. This assignment represents the F.L.A.G.S outcome of effective communicator because we are trying to express our opinion with an argumentative essay.

image

For the 8th grade assignment I chose the blog post in which we were talking about a story about a moth. We were supposed to write about what was happening in the story. Then, we had to write if we agreed with the message of the author which was to live life to the fullest. I think what I could’ve improved was by explaining more but I still think it turned out pretty good. This assignment represents the F.L.A.G.S outcome of critical and creative thinker because you had to imagine you were the moth.

image

I think that my writing has improved throughout these two years because my writing became more interesting. Also, I can use narrative techniques. I think my weakness as a writer is probably making my essays really strong.