Imagine you’re a colonist and the King has given you taxes and ristrictions in how you live your life, would you agree with Thomas Paine and his Common Sense pamphlet?

imageimage

imageIf I’m a colonist then I would totally agree with Thomas Paine because I’m fed up with all of the taxes and trade restrictions (mercantilism). According to his pamphlet named “Common Sense,” one of his main ideas is that these taxes and trade restrictions are what causing Great Britain in hurting our (the colonist) economy. Thomas made another main idea that “it is foolish for a small island 3,00 miles away to try to rule a whole continent.” This basically means that its takes more than a small island that’s 3,000 miles away to rule a whole continent. This is an except from “Common Sense,” “…where, say some, is the king of America? I’ll tell you, friend, he reigns above, and doth [does] not make havoc [destruction] of mankind like the Royal Brute of Great Britain…so far as we approve of monarchy, that in America THE LAW IS THE KING…”  This excerpt is my last reason why I agree with Thomas Paine, this is because as a colonist I am very religious therefore I agree with this excerpt which states that American’s king is God. In the except it also states something about a “Royal Brute of Great Britain,” I know that this royal brute Paine was talking about is the King and he also explained that if we (the colonist)/America had a monarchy the king would be the law.