The past two years in English class has been fun. Our teacher, Mrs. Lepre always tries to make us laugh. I’m writing this blog post to show how much I have increased these two years. The assignments I chose to talk about is one from 7th grade and another one from 8th grade.

The first assignment I’m going to be talking about is the one from 7th grade. This assignment was a performance task. Last year we wrote an essay about water bottle or tap water. In this assignment we had to write six paragraphs about wether you agree with bottle water or tap water. The first paragraph was the introduction claiming what you think people should use, then the second one,third one, and fifth one are your reasons with evidence. We got the evidence from some sources. And the fourth paragraph was a rebuttal. A rebuttal is when you support the other side and give reasons and evidence as well. And finally, a conclusion. As you can see, in the first parahraph where its highlighted I didn’t write a clear introduction. Instead of supporting what I was saying, I was supporting the other option. Another thing I needed to improve is writing a better rebuttal. The rebuttal I wrote was very but very short. It had about three sentences and in those sentences I didn’t do a very good job giving evidence. Now, what I did well in this essay was that I gave a strong reason and evidence for paragraphs two,three, and four. They have more than five sentences, and I gave strong evidence. For this assignment I think I’m a Effictive Communicator because I wrote what I thought was a better option.

image

The second assignment I’m going to be talking about is the 8th grade one. It was also a performance task. This performance task was about the cost of going to college. For this performance task we were suppost to write about what students do to get the money they need to attend college. In order to complete this assignment, my teacher gave us three different sources about the cost of going to college. One source was a chart, the second one was a picture, and the last one was an article. When we were done reading and analyzing them we started to write.

imageAs you can see, the introduction and conclusion are highlighted in purple. That means that I did a good job introducing what I was going to write about. As you can see I didn’t highlight the two body paragraphs. I also did a good job ,but in one paragraph I missed to write something. In this assignment I think I’m a effective communicator because I wrote based on sources.

 

I think I have been improved from 7th to 8th grade because in the performance task from 7th grade I didn’t write a good introduction and in the 8th grade one I did. I think my weaknesses from this year in writing is still with rebuttals because I usually can’t find enough information to write a good rebuttal. I think the best way to improve in this for high school is to keep writing essays with rebuttals to practice.