At Hilltop, I have had the same English F.L.A.G.S. teacher for both years and it’s been quite fun. I can definitely say my writing and other english standards have improved. This blog post to show my strengths and weaknesses from last year and this year. It is also to show what I have improved on and have stayed the same on. The two assignments I chose to show as 7th grade and 8th grade examples are my performance task essay from last year and my Comparing Presentation Apps blog post. I chose these assignments because they give the best image of what my writing was like then versus now.

My 7th grade assignment, the performance task, was about water. Was bottled water better or tap better? We had to chose a side and write why it was superior . I didn’t receive the best grade because of all the errors it contained. I could not fully develop my ideas from beginning to end and I did not have a complete conclusion or counterargument. The F.L.A.G.S. learning outcome that I demonstrated during this assignment was being an effective communicator because I was using evidence to defend my argument.

This year, in 8th grade, we had to write a blog about the best and worst presentation apps. First as a table we all chose an app to evaluate and put them in order from best to worst. On this assignment I received a 30/30 which meant I had no errors. This was definitely an improvement from last year. The F.L.A.G.S. learning outcome that I demonstrated during this assignment was also being an effective communicator because I was using collected evidence to write which app was the best.

As a writer, I have improved between 7th and 8th grade. In my opinion going from a C to an A is a major upgrade. For high school I would still like to improve on my reading and spelling.