This week our class has been looking at different presentation apps and ranking them to see which one was the best. We each tested one and with a list of criteria, ranked it from 1 to 5, 1 being the best. Each group had their own list of 5 different criteria.

Our  group’s criteria was if the app was easy to use, had good graphics, was really customizable, loaded quickly, and could have media inserted.  We figured that the app couldn’t be too complicated, and yet look good and have many things added so it didn’t look plain. Loading times were also essential so that whoever is viewing your presentation didn’t have to wait. Here is a link to my team’s GOOGLE SHEET that shows our analysis. The app that I tested out was Prezi.  Overall, it was pretty easy to use. There was only one menu and it was clear what each feature was for.  The app looked ok, but there was only one type of transition which was very plain. You could change templates and themes, but there was no way to change a certain slide individually.  All the slides and text were the same color and as I said before you could not change the transition type. As for the loading, it would often take around 30 seconds for it to open up a presentation, so it was pretty slow. I was able to add images and even had the option to add YouTube videos to my presentation. Here is a link to my PRESENTATION.

Our group ranked Adobe Voice 1st, Explain Everything 2nd, Prezi 3rd, Google Slides 4th, and Keynote 5th since no one tested it. Adobe Voice met all of our standards, and the other 3 were ranked by the importance of the standards they did meet. My group mostly disliked Prezi’s inability to be fully customizable, since colors and fonts could not be changed individually, and that it only had one type of transition. As for the final rankings, the only thing that surprised me was that Adobe Voice was not 1st. The rest was expected. Now that I know Keynote was considered the best, I think I would be likely to use it in the future. From this project I learned how to rank products based on criteria and how to decide on the criteria itself.