I have been with my same English teacher for 2 years and it has been fun. She has taught me many things in how to become a better writer and how to find evidence for things easier. I am writing this blog post because for portfolio night, an event at our school, we have to write reflections about certain assignments and for my English reflection it will be in the form of a blog post. For my assignments I chose the “Murder Mystery” assignmnet and “Narrative Organizer” because I felt that they taught me a lot.

My 7th grade assignment is called “Murder Mystery.” For this assignment we had to look at different pieces of evidence and read a story to conclude what happened to the lady that died. For the annotations I highlighted the story and picture red because those I could understand well and I knew what to look for when I was inspecting both pieces of evidence. For this assignment it shows that I am Global and Civic Minded because I know how to look for different pieces of evidence and think about how tey could fit in to a story.

image

For my 8th grade assignment I chose my Narrative Organizer because I felt that it taught me many things in describing a characters needs. For this assignment I had to look at each scenario and find out what they needed in order to survive and what they wanted while they were going to survive. I also had to find out why they needed it and why they wanted it. I annotated the column titles red because those were the things that I needed to be looking for. I also annotated what I wrote down yellow because those were the things that they needed to have in order to survive. This assignment also shows me that I am Global and Civic Minded because I can describe the needs and wants of a character accurately from just a scenario that they are placed in.

I have improved as a writer from 7th grade and 8th grade. I know because I can tell how my scores have really improved since when I first started writing. Though I have improved, I still have some weaknesses in writing. One of which is citing sources. I am not very good at citing my sources and fitting them properly into my essay. I can improve this for high school by trying different techniques for citing sources.